Primary Department

Students in the Primary Department are aged from 5 to 12 years.  At Ashwood they experience a secure and supportive place to learn to the best of their ability. Teachers foster an environment that is positive and productive. All children are encouraged to develop their communication and independence skills, attempt new challenges and to accept responsibility for their learning and their behaviour.

The Primary Department curriculum follows the Victorian Curriculum and the Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) and offers a broad range of age appropriate programs to cater for the individual needs of our students.

The Primary Department is structured around the Early Years Literacy (speaking, listening, reading and writing) and Numeracy programs. This involves a daily teaching block and ongoing assessment in subject areas, highlighting best practice and innovative and stimulating activities.

Important areas of learning include:

  • Literacy and Numeracy skills
  • Communication skills
  • Independence skills
  • Social skills
  • Personal development
  • Excursions
  • Camps